Skip to content

Back- and with knitting pics

December 5, 2009

I haven’t blogged in a while – my camera went kaput and I just wasn’t in the groove to just chat.   November came and went and was the wettest in recorded history in Britain if I have my facts straight.   Not much walking, but I managed to get out some evenings and have even been able to do a bit of jogging as well as walking.   I really wasn’t expecting to be able to do any at all, given my weight, so I am pleased that I have been able to do what I did.

Lately though the weather, and then more recently, ill health has kept me indoors.   I recently suffered a tooth abscess caused by the rejection of my body of a root-filled tooth, and after thinking it was a sinus problem (ruled out by doc) I went to the dentist where it was confirmed that it was an abscess and sadly the only thing to do was to take the tooth out.   So although I have been better since then, I still am having some discomfort and look forward to the area being completely healed.

Several things I am grateful for through this episode are that I had dental care available at all.   Years ago such an abscess could result in death.    I’m also grateful that although my dentist was about to take the rest of the week off, he stayed in early Wednesday afternoon to take care of me.  I could have seen another dentist in the practice, but the receptionist said that our dentist would want to take care of me himself.   We have been so pleased with him and think he is well worth travelling into Oxford for.     This abscess could have happened during Christmas week – how thankful I am that it arose when it did, if it had to at all.   I’m thankful that my husband was able to take off work so he could drive me into Oxford.   After the extraction I was in a lot of pain, and the thought of having to travel back home on the bus, and then walk up the hill to our home, in that state, just gives me the shivers.  So, despite the difficulties, there are still things to thank God for even in them.

Now on to knitting – throughout November I’ve mostly been working on little things – and I do mean little – at the end of October a friend from church had her baby at 32 weeks.   In the great mercy of God both mom and baby are doing well and my friend is now just waiting for her baby to be able to come home.

All done in Paton’s Diploma Gold 4-ply yarn.

Yesterday I finished up a sweater for ds3 that I had started last year, and finished the sleeves on earlier this fall.   But it sat there, waiting to be stitched up, as that is a job I hated.   However, I finally learned to do mattress stitch (on the baby cardigan) and used that on the jumper and although not professional certainly respectable enough.  Maybe I can use dh’s camera phone again (which was used to take the baby stuff photos) soon to show it off too.  Ds3 is pleased with it, and had not outgrown it in the time since I cast it on, which is a great relief.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2009 11:11 pm

    Just darling 🙂

  2. Skeptical permalink
    December 11, 2009 2:32 pm

    Nice blog chicky! Woot!

    Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

