Skip to content

Still rainy

September 9, 2011

We’re having another long period of low-pressure which makes me ill with migraine so yesterday was not good at all.  Today for some reason I don’t feel so bad even though it’s still gray and rainy.    Rainy days need bright colours indoors, so today is a good day to show off some recent fabric purchases.

I have to say I have no idea what is going on with me with regard to the choice of color.  I have long been an admirer of reds in other people’s houses, on other people’s bodies and so on.   And now this year I am working on a blanket/throw with astonishing (for me) amounts of red, and even planning another one with yet more red!   I’m even contemplating buying something red to wear, if I happen across something suitable.   (Something suitable would mean big enough, feminine, and not a blue-red, but rather an orange-red.  I think my aversion to red stems from the fact that when I was young I didn’t feel I could wear red well.   I think sometimes we change a bit as we age, not just mentally but in what colours look good on us, as our hair changes, etc.)   This is A Big Step.

And a few weeks ago, when I was in the Witney Knitting Centre, picking up some more Hayfield Bonus DK, and other sensible purchases like an extra 4 mm crochet hook, and buttons for the nearly-completed Marlis jacket:

 

I decided that I would look to see if there were any fabrics I would like pieces of to make some bags.  I found this – which looks a bit wash-baggy, but it is meant to become a sock-or-other-small-project knitting bag, if I can find my bit of yellow nylon parachute fabric which will make it slippier on the inside, which theorectically should make the yarn release a bit more easily.

 

And then, for some inexplicable reason, I thought of making some cushion covers for a kitchen sofa or chair  that I don’t even have yet (neither kitchen nor sofa) that would go along with the redness of the throw I have, and also some of the kitchen (country farmhouse kitchen, don’t you know) paraphanalia like tea cosies and tea towels and cups that I have bought in the past and squirreled away.   I don’t know why I do this, but I have always done.   Kind of like a hope chest but instead of for marriage it’s for a house I can only dream of for now.    So here you are – The Fabric I Never Thought I Would Buy:

and here are some others that found their way into my bag (after being paid for, of course) as well, along withthe Glory Rose by Rowan:

And, after having my iphone for 2 years now, I’ve discovered that I can do close-ups, something that I had sorely missed since my other camera broke!   Yippee! Now here comes a lot more variation in my garden and craft pics!   It’s not the best camera, but I sure will enjoy it a lot more now, and I’m grateful.

Now off to read The Toothpaste Millionaire to my two youngest.   But before I go, a word of advice.  If you or your husband put mousetraps up on the edge of the attic hatch, do warn  your older children of this fact.  Luckily DS1 did not get his fingers trapped, but it was a shock to have a trap (complete with dearly departed rodent) fall past his face when he opened the hatch today as he prepared for going away on an Air Cadet first aid course.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

