Skip to content

New range! And answered prayer

October 30, 2011

This is a big answer to prayer.   I saw an ad on Freecycle last week for a Rangemaster 1100.   I barely dared hope that I could get it.  The man offering it let everyone who wanted to, put their name in and he let his cat choose it somehow.      (Not really, but that is the story!).  I asked my husband if it would be alright if I put my name in (because he would be doing most of the work to get the kitchen ready for it) , and he said yes, so I did.

I  don’t normally pray very directly for material things – I generally just make noises in God’s direction about “I’d like it but whatever is your will, Lord and I know I have everything we need….”  Which is good in its own way, and maybe appropriate for most of the time – I  want to always have an attitude of thanksgiving and not get too greedy.  But I had wanted one of these ranges for a long time now, and this was an opportunity to get one for free!   So, I asked others to pray and I asked God myself for it – this time very directly.    “Lord, I would really like this range.  Please would you give it to me.”    Quite specific, and quite unusual for me.   I did this partly because of what a friend shared with me about being or not being like the older brother in the Parable of the Prodigal Son.   More on that another time, maybe.

In the days before the draw/choicemaking, I thought about what we’d need to do, and about how we would have to go about things.    I don’t normally allow myself to dream and plan that much, but this time I did.      I almost had an assurance that I would get it – again very unusual for me.    And then on Wednesday night – I got the word that I got it!

I was – and am – so thankful for this big blessing.   It was the second major prayer that I prayed last week.   The first was about the new chicken which had escaped and was on the loose for 2 nights.  We were all worried and upset.  Yet God delivered this pet safely back to us.  (Photos another day.)

I feel so blessed recently, so thankful.   I have far to go in some ways, of learning to be content in all things, but I am amazed and grateful for the answers to prayer I have lately received.    There have been such long periods of God saying “no” that this almost feels strange to me – but I am enjoying the plain of easy footing which God has set me on for the time being.

Rangemaster 1100

 

Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him!  Psalm 34:8
Because we had to take out cabinets in order to fit the range, we are now short of storage space, so we went out yesterday and bought a second-hand Welsh dresser.  I plan to do it up in shabby chic colours.     I hope to show the progress as I go.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 31, 2011 8:08 am

    Karen, that is wonderful! What a beautiful range, and when we have things we *know* are a gift from God, they are even more wonderful! May you and yours have many happy years of eating from the range, and may the wonder of God’s provision never fade.

    Happy cooking 🙂
    Happy praising 🙂
    Love, Anne x

Leave a Reply

