Skip to content

Winter vegetables

December 1, 2011

Winter veg is going quite well for me – at least the plants we have good netting over.  I will need to plan to do more winter plants next year.

Kale is growing well, but I don’t think we will like kale an awful lot – it is rather bitter.   However, in smaller amounts, pureed, in soups, will add a good deal of nutrition, I think.  Perhaps stir-fried will be as good as people say it is.   I’ll have to try it.

Anyway, this afternoon I went out to my “garden larder” to get the next to last leek (will have to plant more of those, too) and some kale:

My brussels sprouts are still very small – I guess come Christmas they will still be mild and tender!   The area they are in gets very little

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

